Cancelled: 2020 Skate Canada International

In consultation with the City of Ottawa and the Government of Ontario, Skate Canada has made the difficult decision to cancel the 2020 Skate Canada International. The event was scheduled to take place from October 30-31, 2020 in Ottawa, Ont., at TD Arena. We are incredibly thankful for the effort and support provided by the International Skating Union (ISU), the Skate Ontario Section and all our partners over the past months and are saddened that the hosting of Skate Canada International is no longer viable.

Skate Canada has closely monitored the federal, provincial and municipal health authorities position on COVID-19. Given the evolution of the health crisis and our prudence for the health and safety of the athletes, coaches, officials, and volunteers, the appropriate course of action was to cancel the event.

“This year is unlike any year before and we’ve seen significant challenges on the operation of competitive events due to the global pandemic. As a result of the continuous shift in requirements across the country and the recent 28-day shut down in Ontario’s hot spots, which includes Ottawa, it became clear that it would not be possible to host this event,” said Debra Armstrong, CEO, Skate Canada. “The inaugural Skate Canada International was first held in 1973 in Calgary and since we’ve hosted 46 incredible events across the country. We look forward to continuing the legacy of Skate Canada International in 2021.”

More information about the 2020-2021 Canadian figure skating event season to come.

2021 Skate Canada Challenge format change

Skate Canada has closely monitored the municipal, provincial and federal health authorities position on the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and is committed to the health and safety of the athletes, coaches, officials, volunteers and spectators. With the growing uncertainty surrounding the pandemic, Skate Canada has decided to cancel the in-person 2021 Skate Canada Challenge competition scheduled to take place at the Terwillegar Community Recreation Centre in Edmonton, Alberta from November 23-29, 2020. We are truly grateful for the effort and support of the AB/NWT/NU Section over the past months and deeply regret that we have felt it necessary to make this decision.

Skate Canada is in the process of determining how the competition is best staged to allow skaters to participate from their home regions providing each with an opportunity to qualify for the 2021 Canadian Tire National Skating Championships. More information on the new competition format will be available in the coming weeks. The competition will now run from December 2-6, 2020 to allow additional time for planning an altered format. “The global pandemic has put forth challenges for us all, and our priority is to support the development and goals of our skaters in a safe manner,” said Debra Armstrong, CEO, Skate Canada.

More information about the 2020-2021 Canadian figure skating event season to come.

Canadian champions headline Skate Canada International selection announcement

OTTAWA – As of October 1, 2020, Skate Canada International is scheduled to be held from October 30 –31, 2020 in Ottawa, Ont., at TD Arena.

The safety of all skaters, coaches, officials, volunteers and staff is a top priority and all federal, provincial and municipal COVID-19 protocols will be strictly followed and monitored. Tickets will not be sold for this event and more information on how fans can follow the event virtually will be released shortly. The event will primarily be a virtual media event, and broadcast and schedule information will be released as it is confirmed.

Canadian champions will headline the Skate Canada International field including Roman Sadovsky (men), Emily Bausback (women), Kirsten Moore-Towers and Michael Marinaro (pairs), and Piper Gilles and Paul Poirier (ice dance). The International Skating Union announced today the complete lists of athlete selections for the 2020 ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating series, available here. The complete list of selections for Skate Canada International and Canadian assignments are below.


Nicolas Nadeau (CAN)
Nam Nguyen (CAN)
Conrad Orzel (CAN)
Joseph Phan (CAN)
Roman Sadovsky (CAN)
Mark Gorodnitsky (ISR)
Junhwan Cha (KOR)
Jason Brown (USA)

Emily Bausback (CAN)
Alicia Pineault (CAN)
Madeline Schizas (CAN)
Alison Schumacher (CAN)
Beverly Zhu (CHN)
Satoko Miyahara (JPN)
Ekaterina Kurakova (POL)

Holly Harris / Jason Chan (AUS)
Laurence Fournier Beaudry / Nikolaj Sorensen (CAN)
Alicia Fabbri / Paul Ayer (CAN)
Piper Gilles / Paul Poirier (CAN)
Marjorie Lajoie / Zachary Lagha (CAN)
Molly Lanaghan / Dmitre Razgulajevs (CAN)
Haley Sales / Nikolas Wamsteeker (CAN)
Carolane Soucisse / Shane Firus (CAN)
Lilah Fear / Lewis Gibson (GBR)
Olivia Smart / Adrian Diaz (ESP)

Lori-Ann Matte / Thierry Ferland (CAN)
Kirsten Moore-Towers / Michael Marinaro (CAN)
Natasha Purich / Bryce Chuda (Can)
Camille Ruest / Andrew Wolfe (CAN)
Evelyn Walsh / Trennt Michaud (CAN)
Riku Miura / Ryuichi Kihara (JPN)

Stephen Gogolev (CAN)
Keegan Messing (CAN)